Member Spotlight

Carol K

Member of the Team Tufunga Gym since its inception.

Born:  I was born in London, England and moved to the United States in my early twenties.

Current training schedule: I train three mornings a week. 2 mornings with Simi strength and weight training and 1 morning with David concentrating on stretching and strengthening. Each of the mornings I do 1 to 3 miles on the treadmill as well.

Favorite workout: I don't think I have a favorite workout. I look forward to what each trainer has to offer and attempt to appreciate each thing as a favorite.  I just hope I have a high energy level each session.

Favorite go to healthy meal: My favorite meal is wild salmon, steamed sweet potato and a green vegetable like broccoli, asparagus, spinach or Brussels sprouts.  I usually pick organic vegetables.  I like fruits as a desert, blueberries, strawberries, oranges and watermelon.  I never ever buy cakes, cookies, chips or candy.  I usually eat egg whites the mornings I train.

Anything else you'd like to add:
I originally met Rachel Tufunga at the YMCA and when I trained with her it was the first time I had ever worked out. I found that it was never too late to start, that whatever you do you cannot help but improve. It really changed my life and was pretty exciting.  

I then followed Simi from gym to gym and we have a good relationship as he knows me well and adjusts my routine accordingly.  Especially as four years ago I had an ankle replacement he worked with me to come back from that.  Simi has a good team of trainers and supporters at the gym and I get help, encouragement and friendship from many of them.  Many times in the past I did not look forward to working out but now it is something I look forward to, enjoy and find the gym has a great sense of a place to belong to and I am grateful for its place in the community.

Simi and Rachel Tufunga provide a great service which I consider part of my overall health plan.  My husband Phil and daughter Cameron also train with Simi Tufunga, so it's a family thing.